Families are engaged in their children's learning and development and are poised to support the lifelong success of their child. Head Start recognizes that parents are their children's primary teachers and advocates.

Read more about School Readiness


  1. Language and Literacy
  2. Cognition and General Knowledge
  3. Approaches to Learning
  4. Physical Development and Health
  5. Social and Emotional Development

The Office of Head Start (OHS) defines school readiness as children being ready for school, families ready to support their children's learning, and schools ready for the children who enter their doors.

Children's school readiness is measured by the skills set out in the five domains of the

Head Start Child Development and Early Learning Framework: